<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Malone, Edward Cyril (Ted) (1937-)

Ted Malone.
Saskatchewan Archives Board R-PS76-155-77

Malone was born in Regina on July 17, 1937. His father had been involved in the Liberal Party, and his maternal grandfather was James Grassick, one-time Regina MLA and mayor. Malone graduated in law from the University of Saskatchewan in 1962. He helped a group of young lawyers organize the federal Liberal Party in Saskatchewan for Otto Lang. Malone served as the Liberal campaign manager in Regina Lakeview during the 1967 and 1971 election campaigns. He was elected in the 1973 by-election and re-elected in the 1975 election. When Dave Steuart was called to the Senate, Malone ran for party leadership in 1976 against fellow lawyer and Regina MLA Tony Merchant. The election bitterly divided the party. Malone won the leadership, but the party lost two seats in by-elections and two Liberals, Colin Thatcher and Gary Lane, abandoned the party in favour of the Progressive Conservatives. Their switch resulted in Malone having to share Official Opposition status with the Conservatives. The 1978 campaign was a disaster for Malone and the Liberals. Facing responsibility for unpopular federal Liberal positions and beset by internal strife, the Liberals failed to elect a single member to the Legislature for the first time in the party's history. Although personally defeated, Malone remained leader until 1981 when he was appointed to the Court of Queen's Bench in Regina.

Brett Quiring

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.