<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Waygood, Kathryn B. (1944-)

Kate Waygood (née Lofft) is committed to community involvement in urban planning issues and to preservation of Canada’s built heritage at municipal, provincial, and federal levels. Born on August 20, 1944, in Winnipeg, she earned a BA at the University of Toronto (1972), and taught high school geography in Toronto. On July 14, 1973, she married Bruce Waygood; they moved to Saskatoon in 1977. In 1978 Waygood became involved in a widespread citizen protest related to zoning issues in older neighbourhoods, which caused a fundamental shift in planning practices for Saskatoon. Elected to City Council in 1979 on this issue, she served for twenty-four years (1979–2003), Saskatoon’s longest serving woman councilor to date. Waygood was Saskatchewan Governor to Heritage Canada from 1987 to 1994, and Chair from 1992 to 1994. She received the Saskatoon YWCA Rosalee Early Award for her contribution to Community Heritage in 1984, the Distinguished Contribution Planning Award from the Association of Community Planners of Saskatchewan in 1995, and the Saskatoon YWCA Women of Distinction Award in the area of Heritage and Culture in 1997. Since 2000, Waygood has been co-director of the Community-University Institute for Social Research (CUISR) in Saskatoon.

A. Margaret Sarjeant

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.