<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Saskatchewan Police Commission

The Saskatchewan Police Commission is a body corporate created under statute. Part II of the Police Act, 1990, sets out the legislated framework for the commission and its staff. Staff members include a Director, the Director of the Saskatchewan Police College, training staff, and clerical support staff. The Saskatchewan Police Commission consists of five community persons who are each appointed for a three-year term by Order-in-Council. A commission member is only eligible to sit on the commission for two three-year terms. The current commission is comprised of five persons: the chair, the vice-chair, and three members. The Saskatchewan Police Commission holds regular meetings to deal with issues related to policing, and consults as regularly as necessary with the Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police, the Saskatchewan Federation of Police Officers, Boards of Police Commissioners, and other community groups or individuals.

Section 19 of the Police Act, 1990, outlines the role and responsibilities of the commission,and provides it with its mandate: “to promote adequate and effective policing throughout Saskatchewan.” In order to fulfill its mandate the commission has a series of responsibilities under section 19 that include audit, oversight of training, and the creation of a policy and procedures manual. In matters of discipline, the commission hears appeals or reviews from discipline, and makes the final decision on sanctions or dismissal of municipal police officers. Subject to the approval of the Lieutenant Governor in Council, the commission is responsible for regulations under the Municipal Police Discipline Regulations, 1991, the Municipal Police Clothing and Rank Regulations, 1991, the Municipal Police Equipment Regulations, 1991, the Municipal Police Recruiting Regulations, 1991, the Municipal Police Training Regulations, 1991, and the Municipal Police Report Forms and Filing Systems, 1991.

There are approximately 1,200 municipal police officers in Saskatchewan, providing policing to Regina, Saskatoon, Weyburn, Estevan, Moose Jaw, Prince Albert, Luseland, Dalmeny, Caronport, Vanscoy, Corman Park and Stoughton. The newly created File Hills First Nations Police Service was created under the authority of the Police Act, 1990; it started as three-year transitional model, going from Royal Canadian Mounted Police policing to a stand-alone First Nations police service, and provides policing for five First Nations in southeastern Saskatchewan - Little Black Bear, Okanese, Starblanket, Peepeekis, and Carry the Kettle.

The Commission also supervises the Saskatchewan Police College and approves course training content and changes to curriculum. The Saskatchewan Police College provides basis recruit and in-service training; however, it is not responsible for recruiting of prospective police officers: that responsibility rests with each individual police service.

Murray Sawatsky

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.