<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Harris, Margaret (1921-2006)

Margaret Harris, December 1975.
Linda Holoboff (Saskatchewan Archives Board) S-SP-A9044-6, Saskatoon StarPhoenix fonds

Margaret Harris (Gibb) was born on February 15, 1921, in Galt (now Cambridge), Ontario, and received her early schooling there. She continued her education at the Saskatoon Continuing Education Centre and the University of Saskatchewan. She married Dr. Art Harris in 1946; they had two children. Her volunteer work began with the Home and School Association; she also played a leadership role in organizations such as the Saskatoon City Hospital Auxiliary, Social Planning Council of Saskatoon, and Planned Parenthood Association. In 1965 Harris began involvement with the Council of Women, serving as national president from 1982 to 1984, and was named a life member of local, provincial, and national councils. She was a member of the Canadian delegation to a 1974 United Nations seminar dealing with women’s equality issues, and was chair from 1974 to 1978 of the recently established Saskatchewan Advisory Council on the Status of Women. In 1979 Harris helped form the Saskatchewan Coalition for Women’s Pensions, and lobbied for change. Her awards included the Queen’s Silver Jubilee Medal (1977) and Saskatoon’s Certificate of Distinguished Community Service (1979), as well as a Governor General’s Persons Case Award (1987) and membership in the Order of Canada (1988). Margaret Harris passed away in 2006.

Erin Legg

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.