Saskatchewan Registered Nurses' Association (SRNA)

The Saskatchewan Registered Nurses' Association (SRNA) is the professional, self-regulatory body for the registered nurses of the province. The SRNA is governed by an elected council consisting of president, president-elect, and seven members-at-large. Two public representatives are appointed by the provincial government, and the SRNA executive director serves as an ex-officio member of council. The SRNA is the official voice of nursing in the province, speaking out on health care issues on behalf of registered nurses and the public.

The Saskatchewan Registered Nurses Act was passed on March 10, 1917. The Act of Incorporation declared Jean E. Browne, Elizabeth Van Valkenburg, Norah Armstrong, Jean Wilson, Effie Feeny, Ruth Hicks, Helena Walker, and Granger Campbell as members of its first council. They represented hospitals at Moose Jaw, Prince Albert, Weyburn, Yorkton, and Saskatoon.

The mandate, mission, and structure of the SRNA have evolved to keep pace with changes in the provision of health care and in the environment within which registered nurses practice. The current power and authority for the SRNA comes from The Registered Nurses Act, 1988, which describes the Association's mandate and role in setting standards of education and practice for the profession, in order to ensure competent nursing care for the public.

Sandra Bassendowski