Chiropractors' Association

The Chiropractors' Association of Saskatchewan was created following an Act of the Saskatchewan legislature in 1943 (revised in 1994), which set the rules for licensing all chiropractors in the province and defined what chiropractic is, what it does, and how it relates to society. It is a self-governing professional association, and there are controls and penalties for non-compliance. Successful candidates for practice must be graduates of an institution approved by the Canadian Examining Board, and must have passed a national board exam and a subsequent provincial exam. Continuing education is required by all members as a condition for continued licensure. Chiropractic practices can be solo, group, multidisciplinary, or specialty (e.g., sports, rehabilitation, assessment). Chiropractic care is paid for partly by medicare, partly by the patient, and also by third parties such as insurance companies and Workers' Compensation. The Chiropractors' Association of Saskatchewan is dedicated to providing quality care of the neuromusculoskeletal system, and strives to co-operate with all providers of health care for the benefit of the patient.

J. Kenneth Goldie