<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Ukrainian Catholic Women's League of Canada

Members of the St. Athanasius Ukrainian Catholic Women's League, March 1989.
Roy Antal (Regina Leader-Post)

The Ukrainian Catholic Women's League of Canada (UCWLC) provides resources to allow members to contribute to the Church and society. Fundamental aims include the promotion of Catholic faith, Ukrainian culture, Canadian citizenship, and charitable activities. The League is a national organization of over 6,000 members, many of whom live in Saskatchewan. It maintains offices in Canada's five eparchies (Byzantine dioceses): Toronto, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton and New Westminster. The UCWLC was organized nationally in 1944 and granted federal charter in 1980; it is organized with a national executive, eparchial executive, and local branch executive. In 1951, when Saskatchewan was declared a separate exarchate (missionary diocese) under Bishop Andrew Roborecki, the first provincial president was Micheline Malko of Saskatoon.

Alice Derow

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.