<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Treaty 10

Treaty 10, signed in 1906-07, covered the northern portions of the province which were not included by Treaties 6 or 8. The area of Treaty 10 also encompassed regions that were not surrendered by those groups who adhered to Treaty 6 but had traditionally occupied lands within the Treaty 10 region. This Treaty was largely modeled on Treaty 8. In exchange for access to the surrendered territory and similarly to the promises made under Treaty 8, it was agreed that Canada would provide reserves, annuities, clothing and medals, articles for cultivation, education, and the rights to hunt, fish and trap. As in the case of Treaty 8, it was access to mining and timber resources that most interested the government and spurred its desire to conclude a treaty in the northern portions of the province. For the Indians who took part in these negotiations, it was the maintenance of traditional livelihoods, access to lands, and the provision of health and education that were most important.

Rob Nestor

Print Entry

Further Reading

Ray, A., J. Miller and F. Tough. 2000. Bounty and Benevolence. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press.
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.