<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Sisters of Charity of Montreal (Grey Nuns)

The congregation of the Sisters of Charity of Montreal (the Grey Nuns) was founded by St. Marguerite d'Youville in Montreal in 1737, in response to the needs of the poor in the area. The Grey Nuns came west and served at Ile-à-la-Crosse from 1860 to 1905 and from 1917 to 2001, teaching, operating an orphanage, and establishing a Catholic hospital. They also served in Lebret (1884-1975), Lestock (1897-1932), Regina (1907-78), Saskatoon (1907-), Beauval (1910-71), Biggar (1923-2000), Rosthern (1927-35), Gravelbourg (1928-), Portage la Loche (1943-81), Prince Albert (1955-60), Lisieux (1958-68), Albertville (1960-63), Buffalo Narrows (1968-82), Zenon Park (1972-73), and Esterhazy (1987-).

In Saskatchewan, the Grey Nuns are known for their work in Health Care administration and nursing: St. Joseph's Hospital, Ile-à-la-Crosse (1927-2001); Grey Nuns' Hospital, Regina (1907-74); St. Paul's Hospital, Saskatoon (1907-99); St. Marguerite Hospital, Biggar (1923-67); St. John's Hospital, Rosthern (1927-35); St. Joseph's Hospital (1928-2000) and Foyer d'Youville (1961-2000), Gravelbourg; St. Martin's Hospital, La Loche (1943-81); and St. Anthony's Hospital, Esterhazy (1987-). In addition, the Grey Nuns were involved in teaching, pastoral care, parish ministry, nursing Education, and in the Elmwood Residences in Saskatoon. At the present time, the Grey Nuns continue to serve in a variety of ministries in Saskatoon, Gravelbourg and Esterhazy.

Margaret Sanche

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.