<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities

The Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM) was founded in 1905. The association is governed by a ten-member board: eight are elected directly (president and vice-president elected for one year terms, and six directors elected for two year terms); and two are ex officio members - one the elected president of the Rural Municipal Administrators' Association (RMAA), and the other the appointed executive director. With its office in Regina, SARM serves its members in a variety of ways: reviewing and interpreting provincial and federal legislation; lobbying provincial and federal governments to change legislation; communicating important political developments to members; delivering a range of insurance plans and employee benefit plans to rural municipalities; operating a Trading Department that provides the benefit of volume purchasing of products for municipalities; delivering casual legal services to rural municipalities; publishing the Rural Councillor magazine; and administering various funds for municipalities on behalf of the provincial and/or federal governments, including the Treaty Land Entitlement Tax Loss Compensation Fund and the Wildlife Habitat Trust Fund.

Dale Harvey

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.