<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Rawlco Communications Ltd.

Rawlco Communications Ltd. is a Calgary-based broadcaster with Saskatchewan roots. Established in 1946 by Ed Rawlinson (1912-92), a Saskatchewan resident born in Qu'Appelle, it became one of Canada's most successful broadcasting companies. Rawlinson had a fascination for radio broadcasting: in 1946 he purchased CKBI radio in Prince Albert, and soon after became chairman of his own company, Rawlco Communications Ltd. The company acquired prominent radio and television stations in Prince Albert, North Battleford, Meadow Lake, Saskatoon, Regina, Calgary, Ottawa, and Toronto. Rawlco Communications Ltd. also became a partner in the New Country Network, a Canadian-owned country music television station. In 1975, Rawlinson's two sons, Gordon and Doug, both from Prince Albert, entered the broadcasting business. The Rawlinson brothers formed Rawlco Radio Ltd., a Saskatchewan-based radio broadcasting company. During the next twenty years, Rawlco Radio Ltd. purchased and operated radio stations in Saskatchewan, Alberta, and Ontario. In 1999, Ralwco Radio Ltd. consolidated its holdings to focus only on Saskatchewan radio; it currently operates eleven stations in the province. Ed Rawlinson died in 1992; his son Gordon is now president and CEO of Rawlco Communications Ltd.

Iain Stewart

Print Entry

Further Reading

Anonymous. 2001. “Rawlco Radio's $1 Million Will Assist First Nations' Business Education,” Saskbusiness 22: 14.
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.