<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

Barclay, Byrna (1940-)

Byrna Barclay, born on October 8, 1940, has nurtured a lifelong love affair with reading and writing. She has authored novels, collections of short stories, poetry, and a play. Her work has appeared in numerous literary magazines and anthologies. Publications include Girl at the Window (2004), Searching for the Nude in the Landscape (1997), Crosswinds (1996), Winter of the White Wolf (1985), The Last Echo (1983), From the Belly of a Flying Whale (1988), and Summer of the Hungry Pup (1982). In 2004, she published The Room with Five Walls, a poetic drama in two acts, which won the Regina Book Award. Barclay has served as president of the Saskatchewan Writers Guild, vice-chairman of the Saskatchewan Arts Board, and as a board member of the Saskatchewan Playwrights’ Centre. Editing experiences include: fiction editor of Grain (1988– 90); editor-in-chief of Transition (1983–2002); and founding editor of Spring (2000). Her awards include: Prairie Fire’s Long Short Story Contest (1999); the Saskatchewan Culture Distinguished Service Award (1998); the Saskatchewan Book Best Fiction Award (1996); and the Saskatchewan First Novel Award (1982). She was awarded the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in 2004. Barclay is also a strong advocate for mental health reform, and has served on related boards.

Christian Thompson

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.