The Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan


Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.

14th Canadian Hussars

14th Canadian Hussars
Gerry Carline

The 14th Canadian Hussars were originally organized as the 27th Light Horse on April 1, 1910, in Moose Jaw. The unit was formed by officers and senior non-commissioned officers of D Squadron, 16th Light Horse, which was previously located in that city. Lieutenant-Colonel George Stuart Tuxford commanded the newly formed regiment. At the outbreak of World War I, the 27th Light Horse contributed contingents to the 5th (Western Cavalry) Battalion, CEF. After the war, the headquarters of the 27th Light Horse were moved to Swift Current. The Regiment was designated the 14th Canadian Light Horse on March 15, 1920; it was renamed the 14th Canadian Hussars on August 1, 1940. The regiment was mobilized on January 26, 1941, and converted to an armoured regiment. It was redesignated the 8th (Reserve) Reconnaissance Battalion (14th Canadian Hussars) in April, and the 8th (Reserve) Reconnaissance Regiment (14th Canadian Hussars) in June of 1942. The unit went overseas and participated in several significant campaigns in northwestern Europe. In 1947, the unit was renamed the 8th Armoured Car Regiment (14th Canadian Hussars) to reflect its role as a reconnaissance regiment during World War II. This name was reversed in 1949, then shortened in 1954, and reverted to the 14th Canadian Hussars on May 19, 1958. The regiment was finally disbanded on March 1, 1965, and placed on the Supplementary Order of Battle.

Holden Stoffel

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.